Bruins take home 39 awards from 2021 Mississippi Scholastic Press Association

Bruins take home 39 awards from 2021 Mississippi Scholastic Press Association

Two St. Joe seniors were named to this year’s All-Mississippi journalism team Friday – among 39 awards Bruins won in the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association’s annual high school student media awards.

While the staff of only has five recurring members, they were still able to have a great showing. Eight awards came home to The Bear Facts Staff for individual work as well as publication-wide recognition.

“Bianca and I are so proud of what the staff was able to accomplish this year,” said senior Leah Clark, co-editor of The Bear Facts. “We have both been on this staff for 4 years, and while we now are the only full-time members, we couldn’t be more grateful for the lowerclassmen’s devotion to this publication.”

The Bear Facts brought in two first place awards in categories Best Review and Best Depth reporting. Those entries can be viewed in the list below. While having placed at the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association before, this was the publications biggest haul since their conversion into a digital publication in 2019.

“Every year, our students receive some of the highest honors in Mississippi for high school journalists,” St. Joe principal Dr. Dena Kinsey said. “This says a lot about the hard work and dedication of our student journalists, making our high school student media program the best in our state.”

The following is a complete list of awards won by St. Joe students at the 2021 Mississippi Scholastic Press Association Convention student media competition. The awards were announced Friday, April 9, 2021. Links to winning entries are provided if available.

Major Statewide Awards

All-Mississippi Journalism Honorees: Leah Clark

        Jack Clements

Broadcast Adviser of the Year: Terry R. Cassreino (finalist)


Best of Show Awards

Multimedia Best News Story: Leah Clark, “Carmelite Monastery” (finalist)

Multimedia Best Feature Story: Carrington Fowler, “BruinTHON” (winner)

Multimedia Best Sports Story: Wils Davis, “Sailing” (winner)

     Jack Clements, “Bruin Baseball” (finalist)

Broadcast Best of Show: Bruin News Now, March 12, 2021 (finalist)


Best of Mississippi

Newspaper Awards

News Publication of the Year: The Bear Facts (finalist)

Best Sports Writing: The Bear Facts (finalist)

Best Online Presence: The Bear Facts (finalist)

Best News Story: Molly Moody, “St. Joe Fine Arts Department announces ‘A Night of One Acts'” (finalist)

Best Depth Reporting: Bianca McCarty, “Canton ICE Raids: One Year Later” (winner)

Best Opinion Piece: Leah Clark, “Exam Survival Guide” (finalist)

Best Staff Editorials: The Bear Facts, “An open letter to the Class of 2021” (finalist)

Best Review: Leah Clark, “Chloe x Halle delivers heavenly vocals in the midst of our ‘Ungodly Hour'” (winner)


Podcast Awards

Podcast of the Year: The Bruin Buzz Live (finalist)

Best Sports Podcast Episode: Jack Clements (finalist)

Best Live-Stream On-Air Talent: Jack Clements and Conor Odom (finalist)

Best Podcast On-Air Talent: Jack Clements (finalist)

Turner Brown (finalist)

Best Sports Podcast: Jack Clements (winner)

Best Live-Stream Program: St. Joe-St. Andrew’s football game (finalist)


Broadcast Awards

Newscast of the Year: Bruin News Now, Friday, January 15, 2021 (finalist)

Best Opening Sequence: Bruin News Now (finalist)

Best News Coverage: Bruin News Now (finalist)

Best Feature Coverage: Bruin News Now (finalist)

Best Sports Coverage: Bruin News Now (winner)

Best Creativity: Bruin News Now (finalist)

Best News Story: Jack Clements, “Mississippi Capitol” (finalist)

Best Feature Story: Paige Loyacono, “Spirit Steppers” (finalist)

Best Sports Story: Harrison Mohead, “Football Senior Night” (finalist)

   Paige Loyacono & Aidan McNabb, “Cross Country Finals” (finalist)

Best In-Studio Anchor: Jack Clements (finalist)

Best Sports Reporter: Josh Briscoe (finalist)

         Harrison Mohead (finalist)

Best Weather Report: Harrison Mohead (finalist)

J.J. Tice (finalist)

Best Longform Story: Jack Clements, “Interview with Congressman Michael Guest” (finalist)